top of page


It happened & it was bonkers!


The 2021 Cycling Time Trials National Hill Climb Championships took place on Sunday 31st October, and for the first time in 44 years - the venue was the ‘home of hill climbing’: the leg shattering; VO2 busting; cadence crumbling Winnats Pass.

The event was promoted by a collaboration of organisers from local clubs including: myHill Cycling and Rutland CC as well as expert volunteers from Sheffrec CC and Lifting Gear Products/Cycles in Motion.

We were indebted to Castleton Parish Council for considering and allowing this esteemed event to once again be battled out on one of the UK’s most imposing climbs.

Winnats 21 Logo


Co-organisers Nick Latimer and Chris Myhill featured in a podcast hosted by author and hill climb enthusiast Paul Jones.We chatted about the history of the national on Winnats, details about this years event and  generally discussed the wonderful sport of hill climbing. We also gave out the all important information about how to qualify for the event!If you missed the podcast, don't worry as it was recorded. So if you are planning to enter or spectate, click the link below to catch up with the latest information.


If you have pictures and/or stories of previous national championships on Winnats Pass, you would like to share, please email meThank You!

1947 Vic Clark
1949 - Bob Maitland
1953 - Roy Keighley
1957 - Eric Wilson
1959 - Gordon Rhodes
1963 - Granville Sydney
1966 - Peter Greenhalgh (Winnats record holder. 3mins 11secs)
1967 - Paul Wildsmith
1972 - Granville Sydney
1977 - John Parker
2021 - You?
bottom of page